Registrar Of Vital Statistics
The Registrar of Vital Statistics is responsible for maintaining and administering records of vital statistics. The Registrar issues marriage licenses, civil union licenses, birth certificates, death certificates, burial permits, and disinterment permits. The Registrar also provides certified copies of marriage certificates, civil union certificates, death certificates, and birth certificates.
The Registrar is appointed by the Mayor and reports to the State Registrar in Trenton. The Marlboro Township Registrar can be reached at 732-536-0200 X1600. The marriage license application process is by appointment only.
New Jersey birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates, civil union certificates, as well as genealogical requests can also be obtained from the State Bureau of Vital Statistics.
How to Apply for a Marriage/Civil Union License in Marlboro Township
WHO SHOULD APPLY IN MARLBORO TOWNSHIP
Female or male who resides in Marlboro Township. If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, you must apply for the license in the municipality where the marriage/civil union ceremony will be performed, and the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.
WHERE TO APPLY
The Registrar of Vital Statistics does not have regular office hours.
To schedule an appointment, please leave a detailed message on the voice mail box at 732-536-0200 X1600. Your call will be returned as soon as the Registrar is available.
DOCUMENTS WHEN APPLYING FOR A MARRIAGE/CIVIL UNION LICENSE
1. Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, along with one of the following:
passport, Social Security card, birth certificate or a state/federal I.D.
2. Proof of your residency.
3. Your Social Security card or Social Security number. (Social Security number is
required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.)
4. A witness, 18 years of age or older.
5. Application fee is $28.00.
Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
REQUESTED ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS
1. If you are divorced, have had a previous civil union dissolved, domestic partnership
terminated or have had a marriage/civil union annulled, please bring the decree(s) or civil annulment documents.
2. If your former spouse/civil union or domestic partner is deceased, please bring the
death certificate with the raised seal.
INFORMATION THE APPLICANTS WILL BE ASKED
1. Parents’ birth places.
2. Mother’s maiden name.
3. Name and address of person officiating.
4. Date and place of marriage/civil union.
WHEN TO COME IN AND WAITING PERIOD AFTER FILLING OUT APPLICATION
Recommendation is to come in at least two weeks before ceremony. There is a mandated 72 hour waiting period from time of application. (Remember, we are closed Fridays, weekends, and holidays.) Once issued the marriage/civil union license is valid for 30 days.
FILING OF MARRIAGE/CIVIL UNION LICENSE
Marriage/civil union license will be recorded in the town where the marriage/civil union took place.
CERTIFIED COPY OF MARRIAGE/CIVIL UNION CERTIFICATE
Certified copies can be obtained from the town where the marriage/civil union took place.
If there are any other questions that you need answered, please call Vital Statistics at 732-536-0200 Ext. 1600.
Application to Obtain Birth, Death, Marriage, Civil Union or Domestic Partnership Certified Copies
In accordance with the Governor's Executive Order #18, only the following persons are entitled to a certified copy of a vital record: subject, subject's parent, legal guardian or legal representative, spouse, child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age.
In order to receive a certified copy of a birth, death, marriage, civil union certificate or domestic partnership record, you must complete the application and send the following information with your request. Additionally, when you order a death certificate, the death certificate certification form is also needed.
- A copy of motor vehicle license with photo. Alernate ID is a regular photo ID with
address issued by Motor Vehicle Commission.
- Fee of $15.00 in check or money order made payable to Marlboro Township.
- Self-addressed stamped envelope.
Send all requests to:
1979 Township Drive
Marlboro, NJ 07746
Should you require additional information, please call the Office of the Registrar at
732-536-0200 Ext. 1600.