Division of Tax Collection
For questions, please call 732-536-0200 ext. 1804.
First Quarter Taxes are due no later than February 10, 2016. For Tax Payment instructions and more, please see message from the Marlboro Tax Collector HERE.
First quarter taxes must be received no later than February 10, 2016. The Tax Collector’s Office will have extended hours as follows:
Wednesday, February 3 from 8:30 am to 8:00 pm
Wednesday, February 10 from 8:30am to 8:00 pm
A reminder that Town Hall Municipal Offices are closed on Fridays.
Your tax bill can easily and conveniently viewed on-line http://msi.mymarl.com/
For Tax Payment instructions and more, please see the Tax Collector’s email HERE.
Tax Tips to help reduce your wait at the Tax Window may be found HERE.
For assistance, please call the Tax Collector at 732 536-0200 ext. 1804
Please note that the 2015 Final/2016 Preliminary Tax Bills were mailed out to all Marlboro Township homeowners. Note that an insert has been included explaining the breakdown of your tax bill as well as the County-mandated re-assessment program that took effect this year.
‘Your 2015 Tax Bill Explained’
The Tax Collection Division is responsible for receiving and collecting all current and delinquent real and personal property taxes and charges, receiving penalties and interest, and accounting to the Director of Finance for all collections. The Tax Collection Division is also charged with:
- Performing tax searches and other liens on real property in the Township and charging and collecting fees for such searches.
- Preparing and mailing tax bills, collecting taxes, and maintaining tax accounting records.
- Depositing all monies received in one or more depositories selected by the Township Council and maintaining complete records and accounts of all sums collected and received.
- When paying your taxes, please remember to:
Put your Block and Lot on the check.
Include all tax stubs you are paying.
Include a self-addressed envelope for any information you require returned.
Don’t staple your tax stub to your check.
- Property tax bills are mailed once a year in July and contain four (4) quarterly payments.
Taxes are due February 1st, May 1st, August 1st and November 1st.
- Please be advised that the State of New Jersey does not allow the Tax Collector to acknowledge postmarks. Therefore, taxes must be received in this office on or before the 10th. However, if the 10th falls on a weekend or a legal Holiday, you will have the next business day to make a payment. Payments received after the grace period will be assessed 8% interest per annum on the first $1,500.00 of delinquency and 18% per annum on all balances over $1,500.00.
- Any balances over $10,000 on December 31st, will be assessed an additional flat 6% penalty.
- All taxes not paid by November 11 are subject to tax sale.
- If you pay your taxes through your mortgage company, the statement will say "This is not a bill, for advice only". If you receive an "advice only" statement, but do not have a mortgage company, please use this statement to pay your taxes. Please fill out the following form and return back to this office.
(Bank Code Removal Form)
- When selling your property, this bill must be handed over to the new owner at the time of closing.
- Failure to receive a tax bill does not exempt you from paying your taxes or the interest due on delinquent taxes.
Tax Relief Programs
2013 Homestead Benefit
The State of New Jersey Division of Taxation has mailed application to eligible residents for 2013 Homestead Benefit Applications. Deadline for filing is Thursday, December 31, 2015.
You are eligible if:
- You were a New Jersey resident; and
- You owned and occupied a home in New Jersey that was your principal residence on October 1, 2013; and
- The 2013 property taxes were paid on that home; and
- Your 2013 New Jersey gross income was not more than $150,000 for homeowners 65 or older or blind or disabled; or $75,000 for homeowners under 65 and not blind or disabled.
You can file an application regardless of your income, but if it is more than the amounts above, the State of New Jersey will deny your application. If you were married or in a civil union, you must provide your spouse's/CU partner's social security number and birth year unless you maintained separate principal residences on October 1, 2013.
HOW TO FILE
If you filed a 2012 Homestead Benefit Application for the property listed in your packet: Review the information on your 2013 Homestead Benefit Worksheet before entering your Identification Number and PIN. If anything is incorrect or has changed, including the mailing address, you will be able to modify it. For security reasons, only the last three digits of the social security number(s) previously provided are shown on the Worksheet. You must enter your entire social security number(s) as part of the filing process.
If this is the first time you are filing a Homestead Benefit Application for the property listed in your packet: Complete the 2013 Homestead Benefit Worksheet in your packet before entering your Identification Number and PIN. Read the instructions in the packet before completing the Worksheet.
IF YOU NEED MORE INFORMATION
Information on the Homestead Benefit Program is available on the Division's website at http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/homestead/geninf.shtml or you can call 1-888-238-1233 from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, except State holidays.
Note: If you did not receive a 2013 Homestead Benefit Application Packet and you owned a home in New Jersey on October 1, 2013, that was your principal residence, call the number above for help.
Property Tax Reimbursement:
A program only for those 65 or older or those receiving federal disability benefits. They must have paid property taxes on their principal residence directly or through mobile home park fees. Applicants must be NJ residents for at least 10 years and must have lived in the residence on which the reimbursement is claimed for at least 3 years. There are income limitations. Applicants must meet all requirements for the base and reimbursement years. The reimbursement is equal to the difference between the taxes paid in the reimbursement year and the base year. This program is administered by the NJ Division of Taxation. Filing deadline is June 1. Please call 1-800-882-6597 for information or to request form PTR-1. http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ptr/
Please see the FLYER for Senior Property Tax Reimbursement (Senior Freeze).
Senior Citizens’/Disabled Annual Property Tax Deduction:
An annual $250 deduction for those 65 or older or permanently and totally disabled or qualifies as a surviving spouse of a senior citizen or disabled person with incomes less than $10,000 per year, excluding Social Security payments and other permitted exclusions. Applications must own and reside in the home on which the deduction is claimed. (Senior Form) and (Supplemental Income Form)
An annual deduction of $250 from property taxes is available to qualified veterans or un-remarried widows of veterans. Claimant must be a New Jersey citizen prior to October 1st of pretax year. Veterans, who were honorably discharged and actively served during the following wars, may apply for a deduction: Joint Guard Mission-Bosnia and Herzegovina, Joint Endeavor Mission-Bosnia and Herzegovina, Restore Hope Mission-Somalia, Operation "Desert Shield/Desert Storm", Panama Peacekeeping Mission, Lebanon Peacekeeping Mission, Grenada Peacekeeping Mission, Vietnam Conflict, Korean Conflict, World War I and World War II. Dates of induction/service apply. (Veterans Form)